1940s photo shoot with Rebecca Ruth Photography

The other week I did a 1940s inspired photo shoot with Rebecca Ruth Photographing and I’ve got back a handful of photos! I am so excited about these and wanted to share them right away! Rebecca Ruth Photographing was a pleasure to work with! She was a delight – fun and encouraging ( giving me all the compliments!). I highly recommend working with her; she has experience in portraits, weddings, and creative shoots.

13549117_10154170041836328_354521847_o

 

I borrowed some amazing 1940s frocks and hats from Swish Vintage – Edmonton’s only high end, quality vintage boutique, located in Manulife Place down town. Swish is a vintage lovers dream come true – every time I walk in, I find something gorgeous and unique that I want to bring home and love!

13548808_10154170095791328_1449080126_o

The dress I am wearing is an authentic 1940s day dress, made of a blue-grey linen and trimed with a velvet collar. My hat is vintage ( not 40s) made of velvet with a small rhinestone jewel. Both pieces are from Swish Vintage. The shoes are from BAIT and the suitcases were thrifted by moi. I loved wearing this dress! It was so comfortable and because it is linen it wasn’t too hot ( we shot on a beautiful summer evening, so it was warm out). I am almost tempted to buy this piece for myself – a  simple piece like this is so easy to work into a modern wardrobe, as it is not kitchy or overly structured; if one did not know better, they would think it was a modern piece.

We shot in Old Strathcona at The End of Steel Park, where a train car is permanently stationed and the remnants of train tracks from yesteryear lay. It is a simple background, which is often used for engagement shoots, but fit perfectly with our 1940s theme.

13555577_10154170082876328_743774064_o

I only got one photo of the dress below ( if i get more, Ill share them!). Again, it was an authentic 1940s dress in amazing condition. It is a simple black and white frock but with unique lapels, which makes it one of a kind ( duh, it’s vintage ).  It is actually a bigger size, like a modern day large or extra large, so I cinched it with a 1940s braided belt. The hat below is a beautiful black and white woven cap with lovely rhinestone detailing, that matched my dress perfectly. Both the dress and hat are again from Swish Vintage.

13499917_10154170043481328_1891075634_o

All styling, outfit, hair, makeup and concept done by moi, Danger De Lux.

A big thank you to Swish Vintage for lending me the beautiful pieces and to Rebecca Ruth Photographing for working with me. Head over to their facebook pages ( follow the links) to either hunt for some vintage treasures or book a photo session with a lovely and professional gal.

Swish Vintage Facebook

Rebecca Ruth Photographing Facebook

Don’t forget to like The Deluxe Dollhouse on Facebook too and follow me on instragram @thedeluxedollhouse

Leave a comment